Crooked Phil’s Cafe, Carbonear, NL, Canada, Newfoundland and Labrador


Crooked Phil’s 125B Columbus Drive, Carbonear, NL, Canada, Newfoundland and Labrador

I took a quick trip to Carbonear this afternoon to pick up a package. I capitalized on the opportunity to visit one of the restaurants who is in a Burger Battle during the towns winter carnival. Some of the best food establishments in the community of Carbonear has presented their burgers for culinary judgment. I think this is amazing and I hope it is well attended. All restaurants need some help in the non-tourist season, so hats off to the organizers!!

There is only one day left to visit, enjoy and vote for your favorite burger. My only regret is that I was out of the region for most of this burger battle so I only got to taste one. If you are in the Carbonear area tomorrow, please visit some of these food joints. They are all amazing and I hope they keep the burgers on their menu so I can sample them all over the next few weeks.

I visited Crooked Phil’s cafe as it was next to my original destination. This is a revisit for me; the last time I had been to Crooked Phil’s it was still owned by the original owner, Phil! It has since changed hands and still doing fine. I have to say one thing: if you ever want to feel welcomed, appreciated and taken care of, Crooked Phil’s is the place to go. Smiling faces and attention to detail was evident. I visited 30 minutes before their afternoon closing; I was the only patron in the room but did not feel like I was intruding even though I am sure they were at their end of service for the day. At one point while waiting for my meal they asked me if it was ok to sweep the floor – how sweet is that.

The Food

As I stated before, I was there for a burger as part of the local burger challenge. Their offering was the Dis-n-Dat Burger – a crispy house-made, battered chicken burger dipped in a Dis-n-Dat sauce, topped with provolone cheese, and lettuce on a toasted Pretzel Bun (With potato hashbrowns).
The chicken burger was surprising! I am not usually a fan of a pretzel bun, but , it was soft with a slight char that offered added flavor to the combination of sweet and tangy “dis-n-dat bbq sauce“. The crunch of the breading and juicy chicken was simply marvelous. The sauce and mayo was messy goodness paired well with the toasted bun and crunchy chicken. I would have liked a little more provolone cheese to balance all the huge tangy and sweet flavours of the sauce, but it was not a deal breaker. I would travel the Veterans Highway for this burger any time.

The Review

High Points

  • Place was clean
  • Very Inviting
  • Quick service
  • Affordable
  • If you like terms of endearment you have come to the right place, you will hear plenty and they are not an “act” – they are genuine in my honest opinion.

No low points

Burger, wedge fries, pop, tax and gratuity 28.02

4.7 our of 5 for lunch service

If you are in the Carbonear area take the time to visit and try these burgers. WTG Carbonear Special Events Committee!

Leave a comment