The Fat Badger, 1852 Scarth St, Regina SK


The Fat Badger
1852 Scarth St, Regina SK

img_6835

I visited the city of Regina, to attend a conference last Autumn. My initial impression was not all that great as my arrival was tainted with the inconvenience of having to change hotels 12:30 am because they were over booked. Once the annoyance subsided I decided to give the city another shot.

During a break in the schedule I went for a stroll downtown. The air was crisp and refreshing, just what I needed after sitting in meetings for most of the day. There seemed to be a cross section of pubs and restaurants that peaked my interest, but one in particular caught my eye. The name said it all, The Fat Badger, this was one place that I had to visit.

The  room was narrow, a little dark, there was a pool table at the back of the pub. I sat at the bar and ordered a pint , while waiting I noticed the hand made flags that were made out of wood. They were a nice addition to the pubs décor. During this visit I only stayed for about a half hour, soaking in the ambiance and studying the menu. There was a wide range of offerings , all tempting but I had run out of time and had a appointment to keep but knew I would return.

img_6831

The Return

On my final day in Regina, there was a opportunity to visit The Fat Badger again, this time for a light lunch. During this visit I took a window seat, it was nice to relax and people watch, but it was me who felt like I was being watched. On the wall across from me was a picture of a man who seemed to be staring, the name on the picture said “Canadian Club Chairman”, it kind of creeped me out. Nevertheless, I ordered the spinach dip and a hamburger soup. The dip was rich, cheesy and flavorful, very creamy with a taste that lingered. The hamburger soup peaked my interest , I love hamburgers and I love soup so it had to be a good combination right? The soup was actually very tasty, the broth was seasoned well, the ground meat did not make the soup oily, the addition of the vegetables ,  and macaroni pasta  rounded out this interesting dish. It had deep layers of flavour and textures especially the crunch of the celery.

img_6833

img_6832

The Fat Badger did have other offerings, all of which seems interesting and tempting but time did not permit for a extended stay.

I have to say that if that pub was in my neck of the woods it would certainly be my hang out. Everyone seems to know each other, there was a relaxed and friendly vibe about the place. The bartender knew her job very well, the bar was neat, clean and well organized. She was also  a responsible server as she had to cut off a person who wanted another drink. She did so in a very tactful way, that impressed me.

High Points

  • Friendly
  • Quick service
  • Fresh food
  • Inventive cooking (Hamburger Soup was awesome)

Low Points

  • There were some cords under our feet that got in the way at times, but I guess there was entertainment there the night before.

Price Point

$$ out of $$$$$

Affordable at less than $ 20.00 per person (quick lunch)

Points

3.5 out of 5

If you are visiting Regina, place the Fat Badger on your bucket list, you won’t be disappointed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

