Bear, the new red meat ….for me


I was given some wild Newfoundland bear meat a few weeks back and I have to admit I was unsure what to do with it, how to treat it, season it. I took some to my bro in laws cabin and asked my niece (who is a wickedly awesome chef to do something with it. She did, starting with pan searing it (with her own dry rub) and then finishing it in the oven. it was a delight to have by the camp fire with friends and family.
I am now on vacation and you may see a little more of my blogging as I have time to experiment and to write. Today I tried bear two ways, slow roasted with plenty of herbs, spices, olive oil and red wine and blended into a rich stew, the other?try it on a pizza, I have to admit both turned out to be a success.
I love pizza, and I took the chance to blend bear with my favorite pizza recipe

Bear stew, very rich and flavorful, not gamey, just packed with flavor and heat

Bear stew, very rich and flavorful, not gamey, just packed with flavor and heat

Pizza is amazing with any protein, but especially with bear!!!

Pizza is amazing with any protein, but especially with bear!!!

Thanks to Wade Oates for giving me the bear, and enough of it to experiment.
Some will want the recipe, but if you are a free stylist, it is hard to be exact, but if you are curious? email me and I will try to recall what I created.

If I could get it all the time, it would certainly be my new red meat!!
Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

