What a way to spend a Saturday Night!!


Good food has always been of interest to me since I was a boy growing up in Riverhead Hr. Grace, Newfoundland and Labrador. Back then, we helped our grandfather harvest potatoes and carrots and I remember him drying the caplin on long fish flakes . Those small little fish that visit our shores to spawn each spring were a fixture in most homes back in the 60’s and 70’s. A treat for us would be to roast them on tin foil on an open fire , the smell of caplin accompanied by Nan’s homemade bread was a feast.
 
Now that I am older with years under my belt (in more ways than one) , I like to experiment, to spend time with my hobby that is food and wine. And what better way to spend a Saturday evening than to cook, to cook a huge meal in collaboration with my brother in law Jason. He shares the passion and zest for cooking as I do, he is also a talented wine guru in my opinion . We spent a few hours putting our own twist on versions of some oriental dishes we enjoy. Well one dish led to another and by the time we were ready to sample and feed the children we had assembled 10 dishes. They were all interesting and tasty and of course there were many leftovers. Two guys in a kitchen can tend to be cramped and in my case a tad bit messy, it was worth it and the evening was awesome. Looking forward to doing it again soon, but I think next time 2 or 3 dishes will suffice *s*.

 
 The tenth dish was the starter, Crispy wonton’s, the kids ate them quickly!!!!
 

 

9 of the 10 dishes

 

2 thoughts on “What a way to spend a Saturday Night!!

  1. The other nine dishes were:

    Szechuan Crispy Beef
    Kung Pao Shrimp
    Hoisin Noodles
    Orange-Ginger Chicken
    Sweet and Sour chicken Stir Fry and Chicken Balls (two dishes)
    Chicken and Egg Fried Rice
    Honey garlic Spareribs
    Five Spice Crispy Duck Breast with Plum wine sauce

    Great stuff Ron thanks.

Leave a Reply

